CHAPTER I.

LIST OF MEMBERS OF THE SEVERAL MINISTRIES SINCE CONFEDERATION—Concluded.

FOURTH MINISTRY.

Office.	Name.	Date of Appointment.	
Premier and President of the Council		June	16, 1891
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Sir Hector L. Langevin	May Jan.	20, 1879 11, 1892
Minister of Customs	Hon. Mackenzie Bowell " Joseph A. Chapleau	Oct. Jan.	19, 1879 25, 1892
Minister of Militia	Hon. Sir A. P. Caron	Nov. Jan.	$\begin{array}{c} 8,1880\\ 25,1892\end{array}$
Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Inland Rev- enue	Hon. John Carling	Sept.	25, 1885
	Hon. John Costigan.	May	23, 1882
Secretary of State	Hon. J. A. Chapleau "James C. Patterson		29, 1882 25, 1892
Minister of Justice	Hon. Sir J. S. D. Thompson	Sept.	25, 1885
Minister of Finance Minister of Marine and Fisheries Minister of Interior and Superintendent - G en- eral of Indian Affairs	Hon. Geo. E. Foster	May	29, 1888
	Hon. C. H. Tupper	May	31, 1888
	Hon. Edgar Dewdney	Aug.	3, 1888
	Hon. J. G. Haggart "Sir A. P. Caron	Aug. Jan.	3, 1888 25, 1892
Minister of Railways and Canals	Hon. J. G. Haggart.	Jan.	11, 1892
Without office	Hon. Frank Smith	July	29, 1882

When the above Ministry was formed the then Ministers retained their portfolios and were not reappointed; consequently the dates of their original appointments are repeated.